Middle School Curriculum

Ever since its inception, Chaparral Star Academy has always held strong to a curriculum philosophy of “above and beyond the TEKS.”  The state standards, TEKS – Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills, serves as a springboard for CSA teachers when choosing state-approved publishers.


At CSA, to help with student success progression, publisher decisions are grouped according to students in grades K-5, 6-8, and 9-12.  For example, all students in grades K-5 will encounter the same math publisher to support continuity.    


TEKS are also aligned with Texas College & Career Readiness Standards across all grades.  To ensure success for English Language Learners, all lesson plans & curriculum are also aligned with the Texas English Language Proficiency Standards.


For more information on overall instructional methods, feel free to visit the Middle School School Overview section of the website.


Chaparral Star Academy has adopted the following publishers for each associated subject area:


6th-8th grade English Language Arts Curriculum

CollegeBoard SpringBoard ELA


6th-8th grade Math Curriculum

Savvas/Pearson digits


6th-8th grade Science Curriculum

Savvas/Pearson Interactive Science


6th-8th grade Social Studies Curriculum

McGraw-Hill World Cultures & Geography (6th grade)

McGraw-Hill Texas History (7th grade)

McGraw Hill US History to 1877 (8th grade)


Aligning with another foundational concept of “teacher educational freedom,” each teacher has individual independence for lesson plan creation, curriculum alignment and method of instruction.  For curriculum & instruction questions related to a particular subject and/or grade, CSA always recommends communicating directly with the respective teacher (emails & subjects taught can be found on the Teacher Directory).


Middle school students also have summer reading assignments to help with the continuum of curriculum.